Community > Forum > Official Armadillo Aerospace Forum > Is it really possible to self study Aerospace Engineering?

Is it really possible to self study Aerospace Engineering?

Posted by: sarah29 - Thu Oct 01, 2009 5:45 pm
 [ 8 posts ] 
Is it really possible to self study Aerospace Engineering? 
Spaceflight Enthusiast
Spaceflight Enthusiast
Post Is it really possible to self study Aerospace Engineering?   Posted on: Thu Oct 01, 2009 5:45 pm
How the heck John Carmack did that? I'm a 3D graphics programmer who is also interested with aerospace. Can anyone here tell me where should I start?

Space Walker
Space Walker
Post Re: Is it really possible to self study Aerospace Engineering?   Posted on: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:20 pm
Aerospace engineering is very broad. If you are interested in rocket science. I bought this book. It is a good starting point. Very well written and understandable.
http://www.amazon.com/Rocket-Propulsion-Elements-George-Sutton/dp/0471326429

If you want to get into fluid mechanics... I recommend starting with a basic laminar incompressible flow book to familiarize your self with the equations.

Of course with real vehicles the flow is rarely laminar or incompressible.

Have fun!

Profile WWW
Spaceflight Enthusiast
Spaceflight Enthusiast
Post Re: Is it really possible to self study Aerospace Engineering?   Posted on: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:31 pm
Thank you DanielW. I found the book and I might order it maybe tomorrow.

I'm really interested with rockets, computer controlled missile to be specific would be great (guided). I know John was so damn smart and rich. Is it possible for me to build a guided rocket by just reading books and not getting an aerospace degree?

Oh, what's with the fluid mechanics? How important is that in rocketry? Please enlighten me.

Also, how about flight control, aerodynamics, thermodynamics, and heat transfer? Is it important in rocketry?